Yes, Inform me when...

Policy Study Review 2014

Date: September 29, 2015 at 17:06 GMT


The aim of this report is to provide an insight into the diverse ocean energy policies across several countries, focusing on recent developments.

This report focuses on the 21 countries members of the International Energy Agency’s Implementing Agreement on Ocean Energy Systems (OES): Portugal, Denmark, United Kingdom, Japan, Ireland, Canada, the United States of America, Belgium, Germany, Norway, Mexico, Spain, Italy, New Zealand, Sweden, Australia, Republic of Korea, South Africa, China, Nigeria and Monaco ordered by sequence of joining the Agreement.

Information on policies which support and impact on ocean energy development were obtained from the OES member delegates. Ocean energy technologies are largely at the prototype testing phase. Despite the recent growth of installed capacity, the long-term reliability of ocean energy projects is yet to be demonstrated (with exception of tidal range energy technologies). Recently, larger companies such as utilities and manufacturers have become increasingly involved in device development.

IEA member countries are faced with the challenge of achieving energy security, environmental protection and economic competitiveness. Ocean energy could contribute to these objectives in the medium to long term, provided that policies which establish support mechanisms to stimulate market deployment and further offer RD&D funding are implemented by their governments.

Currently, several OES member countries offer support for ocean energy RD&D through a range of energy policies, mainly:
1) National strategy
2) Regulatory issues and marine spatial planning
3) Market incentives
4) Sea testing facilities
5) Funding R&D programmes 

The OES is organised under the auspices of the International Energy Agency (IEA) but is functionally and legally autonomous. Views, findings and publications of the OES do not necessarily represent the views or policies of the IEA Secretariat or its individual member countries.